Quick Lit Mini Reviews

October 2021 Book Recommendations

October 2021 Book Recommendations: What to Read & What to Skip

Welcome to my regular round up of mini book reviews for my October 2021 book recommendations! Historical romance in the form of the Bridgerton books continues to dominate my favorite reads of the month.

In my list of October 2021 book recommendations, I include everything I’ve read recently that I finished.  I like to share both my five star reads and any misses to help you get a better idea of what you should read or might want to skip.

As always, I love to hear if you agree or disagree with my ratings! Let me know in the comments what you thought of my October 2021 book recommendations.

*Disclosure – I earn a small commission for any items purchased through the links above at no extra cost to you. Thank you for supporting my book blog!!
If you’d like to also support indie bookstores, please use Bookshop.org!!

 

October 2021 Book Recommendations

 

 

Physical Books:

 

offer from a gentleman

An Offer From A Gentleman

by Julia Quinn

I’m on to Book 3 of the Bridgerton series! If you read my last roundup of mini reviews, you’ll know I adore these books. I’m reading through the Once Upon A Book Club special edition books. (P.S. The books are still available and you can get 10% off with code NeverEnough10)

Book 3 focuses on the second oldest brother, Benedict Bridgerton. It’s essentially a Cinderella retelling, with the female lead serving as a maid who falls for the man above her class. Every single book in this series is incredible so far! All with their own sense of humor and tone of voice, but each outstanding.

5 Stars | Amazon | Bookshop.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

very sincerely yours

Very Sincerely Yours

by Kerry Winfrey

An epistolary contemporary romance!?? Yes, please!! I adore books told through letters, emails, text and this did not disappoint! It was engaging and sweet and has all the delicious build up you expect when communication happens not in person.

A woman working in a vintage toy story starts writing to a kid’s TV star and they both find themselves surprised by their connection. As life continues, they keep writing but never meet in person. At least until their worlds suddenly collide and they’re forced to examine what they truly want from each other. 

4 Stars | Amazon | Bookshop.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

royals next door

The Royals Next Door

by Karina Halle

With two characters that loosely resemble Harry and Meghan, this royal read is perfect for fans of that couple! When they decide to move to a remote location, it just happens to be right next door to Piper, local elementary school teacher. 

One day as she’s returning home from work, she’s accosted by an abrasive, but undoubtedly hot, security guard. As life on the island completely unravels due to the royal presence, Piper just can’t seem to stop having run-ins with their guard. This was a fun romance with the royal twist. While it wasn’t anything spectacular, it’ll be perfect for fans of Harry and Meghan.

If you’re looking for other books about royals, pick one of the novels on my royal reads post!

3 Stars | Amazon | Bookshop.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Save For Later!

 

 

 

 

 

eBooks (reading from Netgalley / Library):

 

 

 

the layover

The Layover

by Lacie Waldon

I’ll admit a significant reason I picked this novel to read was the gorgeous cover! It promised a tropical, escape type of story and that’s what I got! A gorgeous island setting, forced proximity between coworkers, and lots of romantic adventures. 

Ava is on her last trip as a flight attendant before she’s grounding herself to start her new life as a wife and hopefully mother. However, when the trip to Belize is unexpectedly extended, she’s living her nightmare – sharing the time with coworker, Jack, who she despises. This is a fun romp for enemies to lovers fans!

4 Stars | Amazon Bookshop.org

 

 

 

 

 

the party crasher

The Party Crasher

by Sophie Kinsella

As a devoted Sophie Kinsella fan, I simply must read every new book she writes. So, it hurts a little to not be able to gush over her latest! Honestly, it’s decent but probably won’t make my list of favorite books of the year. So, if you’re a Sophie fan, give it a shot, but otherwise it may be a worthy skip.

Effie’s family has been falling apart ever since her parents announced their divorce and her dad shacked up with a new woman. Now, their charismatic house is being sold and Effie was “accidentally” not invited to the final get together there. A series of chaotic events lead to encounters with everyone important in her life and her final goodbye to the house.

3 Stars | Amazon | Bookshop.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

AudioBooks:

 

 

 

The Hunger Games

by Suzanne Collins

This is technically a re-read, but it was my first time listening on audio! I adored this book initially, but it is stellar as an audiobook as well. There’s a recently released special edition now available narrated by an Emmy-award winning actress!

For those new to this series, The Hunger Games is a dystopian trilogy set in a world where the government requires select teenagers to fight to the death once a year. Katniss is from the poorest district, where there is usually no hope of a winner, but her survival skills give her a fighting chance.

You can listen to this now with Audible! As a bonus, they’re offering 46% off right now through the holidays!

5 Stars | Amazon Bookshop.org

 

 

 

If you’d like to track and analyze your reading, check out my Reading Tracker!

 

 

 

 

 

What was the best book you read recently?

 

For more mini book reviews, check out What I Read in September 2021!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *