·

15 Books Like Icebreaker: Steamy Hockey Novels

Get swept up in the drama and intensity of books like Icebreaker!

If you loved the heart-pounding, spicy, and nostalgic vibes of Icebreaker by Hannah Grace, you’ve come to the right place!

I’m sharing a collection of college sports romances and hockey romance books like Icebreaker to cure your hangover from reading this social media sensation! There’s nothing to stave off the chill of winter like a steamy sports romance!

This list of books like Icebreaker is guaranteed to get your heart racing!

I tried to avoid including books from the same series to give you as much variety as possible. If you like the first book, then you can explore more on your own!

You can also read a bunch of these books as part of a Kindle Unlimited subscription – which is currently available for FREE for up to 2 MONTHS!!  This is an incredible offer and many readers have already taken advantage of it!

I hope you fall in love with one of these incredible books like Icebreaker! 

*Disclosure – I earn a small commission for any books like Icebreaker purchased through the links below. Please consider Bookshop.org if you want to support indie bookstores everywhere!

 

Books Like Icebreaker To Read Next

 

 

wildfire

Wildfire

by Hannah Grace

I obviously have to start off this list by including Hannah’s most recent release! While it doesn’t have the sports vibes, there is the same element of a playful friendship, steamy tension, and deep feelings. Aurora and Russ are shocked to find themselves as counselors at the same summer camp, the day after their supposed one-night stand.

Their is a no-fraternization policy, so they’re forced to dial things back to just friends. But Aurora’s never been one to keep her hands to herself! | Amazon | Buy Exclusive Edition at Target

 

 

 

 

always only you

Always Only You

by Chloe Liese

A swapped grumpy / sunshine romance! In Always Only You, Frankie is the stoic one who takes her role as part of the professional hockey team’s management very seriously. Ren is one of the Bergman brothers who is perpetually happy and immediately fell for the girl he can’t have. As one of the players, any relationship with a co-worker is off limits. 

I love the idea of the hockey player as the supportive, nerdy, all around great guy in this one! It’s a pleasant break from the cocky jocks we’re used to seeing.  | Amazon | Bookshop.org

 

 

 

honey and spice

Honey & Spice

by Bolu Babalola

A Reese’s Book Club pick that’s perfect for enemies to lovers fans! A sharp tongued host of her own college radio show, Kiki spends her time making sure her fellow Wellington University ladies don’t fall for the wrong guy. 

It all blows up when she finds herself kissing one of those men she very publicly denounced. To save both their reputations, these two reluctantly agree to a fake dating scenario. Amazon | Bookshop.org

 

 

 

 

hes not my type

He’s Not My Type

by Meghan Quinn

This 2023 new release is perfect if you’re looking for a standalone option! Our two main characters are roommates (which always results in the most deliciously awkward scenarios)! Halsey is the introvert, reader / hockey player we all need in our lives! When Blakely moves in and his teammates find out she’s single, they start giving him all sorts of unsolicited advice about how to win her over.

She doesn’t give him the time of day until she agrees to use him to make her ex jealous. I can’t even describe how excited I am to read this!  | Amazon (Free On Kindle Unlimited)

 

 

 

temptation

Temptation

By Ivy Smoak

Get ready for a teacher/student ride in this addition to our books like Icebreaker list!  I love that this features a shy girl with a dark secret! Penny is the quintessential rule-follower, so none of her classmates would guess she has a crush on the hot, unobtainable Professor Hunter.

This former billionaire turned teacher happily left his former world behind, but he knows he needs to stay away from any students in order to keep his new life intact. Hunter’s never been one to resist a tempting offer, though… Amazon | Bookshop.org

 

 

 

pucked

Pucked

by Helena Hunting

Violet thinks she knows exactly what to expect from hockey players. After all, her stepbrother plays in the NHL. An unexpected interaction with her school’s star player leaves her questioning the stereotype that they’re all dumb jocks. Plus, he proves he really really knows what he’s doing in bed. A combo she’s finding it way harder than she expected to resist. | Amazon (Available for Free on Kindle Unlimited!) | Bookshop.org

 

 

 

 

 

the deal

The Deal

by Elle Kennedy

Get ready for a steamy, mutually beneficial arrangement that will leave you breathless! When Hannah finally finds someone in college who turns her on, she’s willing to try everything to get his attention. Even if it means tutoring the cocky, annoying captain of the hockey team in exchange for a fake date.

Garrett is also willing to do anything necessary to keep his dreams of playing professional hockey alive, so he accepts the arrangement. However, a kiss that leads to wildly satisfying…so much more… has him rethinking how much he wants to help Hannah seek out some other guy. This was such a great book!! It was well-written and had the perfect buildup to a relationship! | Amazon | Buy At Target for $8

 

 

 

 

The Girl He Used To Know

By Tracey Garvis Graves

If you’re looking for one of these books like Icebreaker with a little less steam, give The Girl He Used to Know a try! This is an incredibly moving story that begins with two college students who fall in love, but are torn apart by a tragedy. Ten years later, they unexpectedly find each other again in Chicago. Go back and forth between their young love story and their rocky rekindled relationship in present day.

I adored reading about an autistic heroine as she navigates college life, love, and successfully making her way in the world as an adult.  This is a couple you’ll root for to the ends of the earth! Amazon | Bookshop.org

 

 

 

 

 

zack

Zack

by Sawyer Bennett

This books like Icebreaker option is also featured on my single dad romance list! After a tragic accident, Zack is left caring for his son alone. As a hockey player, his travel schedule and team demands force him to hire a nanny to help. 

Kate easily wins over Ben, which is the only reason Zack decides to keep her around. He doesn’t need another distraction, but the sparks between them are immediately evident. Kate knows better than to get involved with an emotionally unavailable man, though, especially her boss. Will that stop them from finding common ground…and something more? | Amazon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

him

Him

by Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy

A night when things went a little too far changes everything between former best friends Jamie and Ryan. Ryan knew he shouldn’t have convinced his very straight friend to do anything out of character, so he cuts himself off. Now their rival college teams are playing each other in the national championship but Jamie still walks away with no more answers.

When they end up coaching at the same summer hockey camp, they’ll have six weeks to figure out what’s going on between them. | Amazon | Bookshop.org

 

 

 

 

breakaway

Breakaway

by Grace Reilly

Getting involved with the coach’s daughter is NEVER a good idea. Cooper knows this is a hard and fast rule, especially with an NHL career on the line. Yet, when Penny pulls him into a closet for a hot makeout session and asks him to help her check off a sexual to-do list, he’s a goner. They agree to a strict friends with benefits situation to ensure their secret will stay safe. As time passes though, they start turning to each other for more than just sex.

Who doesn’t love the idea of a “to do” list!? This has all the steam you’d expect from a great hockey romance books option! | Amazon (Available for FREE on Kindle Unlimited!)

 

 

 

 

 

kissing tolstoy

Kissing Tolstoy

by Penny Reid

I’ll be the first to admit this is…not my favorite cover haha! I promise though you’ll fall in love with what’s inside! If you love books like Icebreaker that feature the forbidden professor/student romance, I’ve got another option for you! 

Anna walks into her Russian Lit class and is floored to discover her professor is none other than a former blind date from months ago. This unlikely pair spar over Tolstoy and challenge each other constantly, but discover a deep respect and love that could turn into forever. | Buy From Amazon

 

 

 

 

 

puck me

Puck Me Secretly

by Odette Stone

Have you ever thought about what you’d confess on a plane if you thought you weren’t going to make it?? Rory has the terrifying chance to find out, but it’s even more awful when they survive the harrowing ride and she realizes she’s said (and done) WAY to much with the man sitting next to her. 

Even worse is when she shows up to work and he’s a hockey player on her team…  I adore this type of meet cute!! I can’t wait to see how the tension plays up between these two. Amazon (Available for Free from Kindle Unlimited)

 

 

 

off the ice

Off The Ice

by Avon Gale & Piper Vaughn

Get ready for a player / professor romance that has the same campus vibes as Icebreaker!! I can’t deny I love the teacher student trope, so this one is high on my list. Tristan may be a hockey star, but he’s smart enough to know he can’t play forever. So, he’s pursuing a business degree as well. Unfortunately, his sexy sociology professor is taking up all this brain space.

Meanwhile, surly Sebastian is having the same problem. The biggest problem is Sebastian is openly and proudly gay, but Tristan wants to keep their relationship under wraps. Can they find a way to make their way in the world, together? | Amazon 

 

 

 

 

a brush with love

A Brush With Love

by Mazey Eddings

My last books like Icebreaker option is one I didn’t expect to fall in love with! I honestly thought, there’s no way I’ll be into a romance book featuring…dentists. Turns out I was wrong. So wrong. I adored the relationship between these two and the powerful messaging about living with anxiety.

Med student, Harper, has all the right reasons for devoting her entire life to her oral surgery program. So, even though she feels an instant spark when she literally runs into fellow student, Dan, there’s nothing that will derail her.

The heart can be a terrible influence, though. Against her better judgement, she keeps spending more and more time with him, but STRICTLY as friends. When the lines begin to blur and her future is at stake, will she be able to finally address her crippling anxiety and do what’s really best for her? Amazon | Bookshop.org

 

Which of these books like Icebreaker are you going to read next?

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *